See All Topics

Home / Section: AAEC-feed

Darrin Bell wins 2015 Robert F. Kennedy award for editorial cartooning

Mike Rhode over at ComicsDC announced that this year’s recipient of the Robert F. Kennedy award for editorial cartooning is The Washington Post Writers Group’s Darrin Bell.

From the announcement:

The …awards… will be presented by Mrs. Robert F. Kennedy at a ceremony featuring remarks by Kerry Kennedy and Michael Beschloss on Thursday, May 21, 2015, at 6:00 p.m. at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. The 2015 RFK Book and Journalism Awards were sponsored by the George Washington University.

The ceremony will also feature the presentation of the 2015 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards, celebrating their 47th anniversary. All honorees will receive a bust of Robert F. Kennedy in recognition of their award.

I think Darrin is a natural choice for this. For years his comic strip Candorville has touched on social issues. I’m not sure when he started syndicating editorial cartoons, but I see them on Facebook and they’re consistently hard hitting and socially focused.

Congratulations, Darrin.

Community Comments

#1 Mike Lester
@ 9:31 am

Good on you DB! WPWG kudos.

#2 Michael Pohrer
@ 10:24 am

Congrats Darrin. Well deserved! Although I read the other strips more than the editorial jabs in the eye. Funny stuff all around. Always consistent…

#3 Darrin Bell
@ 11:41 am

Thanks, Mike(s).

#4 Anne Morse Hambrock
@ 2:59 pm

Well deserved!

We are excited for Darrin to come to Kenosha this September!

#5 Brian Basset
@ 5:49 pm

Congratulations, Darrin!

#6 Darrin Bell
@ 6:27 pm

Thanks, Anne, thanks Brian.

#7 Steve Artley
@ 11:31 am

Congratulations, Darrin on your win. It was a very fine portfolio you submitted to the contest. I’m eager to see more. Also, looking forward to meeting you at the RFK ceremony (NCS too!).

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.