Support Your Local (or Distant) Cartoonist

If you are a lover of the medium, please consider supporting a couple of your favorite artists. As staff positions disappear, private donations make a huge, huge difference. This genuinely matters.

And if you are a cartoonist with a support site not listed here, or need a correction, let us know and we’ll update the list.

A. F. Branco patreon.com/BrancoCartoons

Ailurus Mursus patreon.com/AilurusMursus

Alan Moir http://moir.com.au

Ann Morse Hambrock https://annethepassiveaggressivepoet.substack.com/

Barney & Clyde https://barneyandclyde.substack.com/archive

Barry Deutsch patreon.com/barry

Ben Wright-Heuman patreon.com/BWHComics

Ben Zaehringer https://www.patreon.com/berkeleymews

Bill Day patreon.com/BillDayArt

Bob Eckstein https://thebob.substack.com/

Bob Englehart patreon.com/Englehart

Brad Guigar https://evilinc.substack.com/

Brian McFadden patreon.com/BrianMcFadden

Brian Michael Bendis https://brianmichaelbendis.substack.com/

Cartoon Box patreon.com/cartoonbox

Cartooning for Peace Cartooningforpeace.org/en/supporting-cartoonists/

Cartoonists.org Cartoonists.org/

Cartoons By Dante patreon.com/CartoonsByDante

Casey Nowak patreon.com/CarolynCNowak

Charles Brubaker https://www.patreon.com/smallbug

Chip Zdarskyhttps://zdarsky.substack.com/

Chuck Whelon patreon.com/cartoon

Colleen Doran https://www.patreon.com/ColleenDoran

Counterpoint https://counterpoint.substack.com/

Crowden Satz https://www.patreon.com/CrowdenSatz

Dan Thompson https://www.patreon.com/comicstrips

Dark Legacy Comics patreon.com/DarkLegacyComics

Darrin Bell patreon.com/darrinbell

David Fitzsimmons https://davidwfitzsimmons.substack.com/

D.M. Higgins President Supervillain patreon.com/presvillain

Drew Litton https://www.patreon.com/drewlitton

Ed Power and Melissa Dejesus patreon.com/mycage

Ed Steckley https://edsteckleyillustrator.substack.com/

Erika Moen patreon.com/erikamoen

Folding Hamster patreon.com/FoldingHamster

Fred Malm https://www.patreon.com/amodestlook

Frega DiPerri https://buddyandromeo.substack.com/

Georgia Dunn https://www.patreon.com/breakingcatnews/posts

Gerry Duggan https://gerryduggan.substack.com/

Glass Eye studios https://glasseyestudios.substack.com/

Grant Morrison https://grantmorrison.substack.com/

Grant Snider https://incidentalcomics.substack.com/

Greg Kearney http://www.gkearney.org/

Hibernotion patreon.com/hibernotion

Hilary B. Price https://rhymeswithorangecomic.substack.com/

Hilary Campbell patreon.com/cartoonsbyhilary

HLKProductions patreon.com/hlkpro

Ike and Joe https://www.patreon.com/ikeandjoe

James Tynion IV https://jamestynioniv.substack.com/

Jason Chatfield https://substack.com/@jasonchatfield

Jason Chatfield https://www.newyorkcartoons.com/

Jeffrey Koterba https://www.patreon.com/jeffreykoterba

Jen Sorensen jensorensen.com/subscribe/

Jesse Springer https://www.patreon.com/SpringerCartoons/

Jim Keefe https://www.patreon.com/JimKeefe

John Kovalic, Dork Tower patreon.com/Kovalic

Joy of Tech http://joyoftech.com/joyoftech/joyarchives/support.html

Julia Wertz patreon.com/juliawertz

Keith Knight-K Chronicles patreon.com/keefknight

Kevin and Kell https://www.kevinandkell.com/support/

Kevin Fagan https://drabble.substack.com/

Kris Black patreon.com/krisblack

Lectrr patreon.com/lectrr

Levni Yilmaz patreon.com/LevniYilmaz

Liana Finck https://lianafinck.substack.com/

Liniers https://www.patreon.com/LINIERS

Liza Donnelly https://www.patreon.com/lizadonnelly

Lucy Bellwood patreon.com/LucyBellwood

Mark Fiore patreon.com/markfiore

Mark Fiore https://markfiore.substack.com/

Mark Parisi https://www.patreon.com/MarkParisi

Mediamuffin patreon.com/mediamuffin

Melissa Mendes patreon.com/melissamendes

Michael de Adder https://www.patreon.com/michaeldeadder

Michael de Adder https://deadder.substack.com/

Micheal Ramirez https://michaelramirez.substack.com/

Molly Ostertag https://ostertag.substack.com/

Monica Gallagher https://monicacomics.substack.com/

M. Rasheed patreon.com/MRasheed

Mr. Fish patreon.com/mrfish

Nancy Beiman https://nancybeiman.substack.com/

Nathaniel Gold https://www.patreon.com/ikeandjoe

ND Stevenson https://www.imfineimfine.com/

The Nib membership.thenib.com/

Nick Anderson patreon.com/editorialcartoons

Nick Anderson https://nickanderson.substack.com/

Otterly Human https://patreon.com/otterlyhuman

PastaCouch patreon.com/PastaCouch

Pat Mills https://iconoblast.substack.com/

Patrick Chappatte chappatte.com/store/

Paul Karasik patreon.com/paulkarasik

Rick Stromoski patreon.com/user?u=5342959

Rob Rogers patreon.com/robrogers

Roger Langridge https://www.patreon.com/hotelfred

Rusty Yunusoff patreon.com/rustyyunusoff

Sakicakes patreon.com/Sakicakes

Sandra Bell-Lundy https://sandrabelllundy.substack.com/

Satish Acharya patreon.com/cartoonistsatish

Scott Snyder https://bestjackettpress.substack.com/

Shannon Wheeler https://shannonwheeler.substack.com/

Skottie Young https://skottieyoung.substack.com/

Sophie Campbell https://sophiecampbell.substack.com/

Sophie Goldstein patreon.com/sophiegoldstein

Steve Brodner https://stevebrodner.substack.com/

Steve Conley https://www.patreon.com/steveconley

Tauhid Bondia: https://www.patreon.com/7auhid

Ted Rall patreon.com/tedrall

3W3M comics https://3w3m.substack.com/

Tini Howard https://tinihoward.substack.com/

Tom Sparke patreon.com/tomsparke

Tom the Dancing Bug tomthedancingbug.substack.com

Tom Tomorrow, Sparky’s List ThisModernWorld.com/archives/9217

Tundra Comics, Chad Carpenter patreon.com/tundracomics

William Brown https://nativecpeaker.substack.com/

Zoe Si patreon.com/zoesees

Zookie Cartoons patreon.com/ZookieCartoons

Zunar patreon.com/zunar

(h/t to Rickey Scott, who compiled the original list!)

5 thoughts on “Support Your Local (or Distant) Cartoonist

  1. These monthly donation schemes kinda fill me with angst (“what if they stop producing? what if I stop liking what they’re producing?”). I’d rather support in a lump sum, and (ideally) I’d rather make that support through the purchase of a piece of original art — a keepsake of an artist’s work that speaks to me, and is (I imagine) sitting on a giant teetering stack in the artist’s storeroom. What I find is that few creators have a nice simple method for how to buy art from them. Creators seem to feel some weird need to be coy about it. I can’t even recall the last time I was on an artist website and they had a page full of original art listed, with prices specified, and how one goes about paying.

    I suppose these days many are working digitally, so there’s nothing to sell (I’ll not sully this discussion with the idiocy of NFTs), but there’s lots of artists who still work in the physical world, and vanishingly few of them offer their work to fans in a way that doesn’t smack of breaking into a Las Vegas casino vault.

    Heck, the term patron itself, messed with by patreon presumably for copyright reasons, refers to those who support artists by BUYING THEIR OUTPUT.

    Okay, end of rant. Sell us your art!

  2. I have a fairly long list of cartoonists I support to the tune of $5 per month. Each is a drop in the bucket, so (to answer one of Allan’s concerns), I don’t really care if they’re intermittently productive. I respect them and like their stuff, and that’s good enough for me.

    Having said that, there are some people on the above list (not gonna name them) who are already so successful I’d expect them to be embarrassed to solicit Patreon support. Of course everyone’s life story and financial situation is a mystery to me, but if (to pick an absurd and deceased example) Charles Schulz were to ask me to kick in, he’d get a big side-eye from me.

    I have a Patreon irk, and that is when a creator I’m supporting announces that they’re funding someone else. I don’t have a rational objection–it’s nice that they’re sharing the pie, it’s a small amount of money, and surely those people deserve their support–but emotionally I think, “Hey, if you can afford to give Jane Doe $5 a month, why do you need mine? If I wanted to pay Jane, I’d do it directly.”

    I’m not always proud of myself.

  3. Meant to add that I differentiate between Patreon and Substack. With Substack, you’re usually getting a cartoon, column, or other content on a regular basis, often daily. I think of that more as self-syndication; you’re buying a subscription. Patreon feels more loosy-goosy. I do subscribe to some Substack content and like that model very much.

Comments are closed.

Top