NCS Auction for The Benefit of St. Jude’s Children

Beginning on October 27th and running through November 3rd of this year, the National Cartoonists Society and the NCS Foundation will hold a major art auction online, with all proceeds going to benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

The NCS has enlisted the help of Heritage Auctions, the industry leader in the field of comic and cartoon art, to conduct the auction.

Yes, anniversaries are the theme!

2021 marks the 75th anniversary of the National Cartoonists Society, and to celebrate this milestone, the NCS and the National Cartoonists Society Foundation have joined forces with Heritage and will be auctioning more than 150 works of art. Several beloved comic and cartoon characters are also enjoying anniversaries this year, so the auction also commemorates the landmarks of many characters that have sprung from the pens of NCS members over the decades. Included in the array of cartoons, comic strips, and illustrations, are such favorites as Dennis the Menace, Wonder Woman, Captain America, Dumbo, MAD Magazine’s Spy vs Spy, Archie, 101 Dalmations, The Fantastic Four, Yogi Bear, Deadpool, Ren and Stimpy, Mutts, Zippy, Dick Tracy, and many more.

Though there are other older pieces thrown in amongst the new.

Collectors will be bidding on works by a star-studded array of the world’s greatest cartoonists, including Charlie Adlard, Sergio Aragonés, Jim Borgman, Dan Brereton, Howard Chaykin, Jim Davis, Eric Goldberg, Cathy Guisewite, Lynn Johnston, Jeff Keane, Rick Kirkman, Bobby London, Patrick McDonnell, Luke McGarry, Wiley Miller, Eric Powell, Stan Sakai, Mark Schultz, Jerry Scott, Scott Shaw!, Jill Thompson, Angelo Torres, Garry Trudeau, Mort Walker, and many other popular creators.

Comic strip artists!
Comic book artists!
Editorial Cartoonists!
Animation cartoonists!
Magazine cartoonists!

More information at the National Cartoonists Society.

The 170 (so far) pieces of art are now up at Heritage Auctions.


characters © respective copyright owners; art © respective artists