NSC to honor Lee Salem with Silver T-Square Award

The National Cartoonists Society has announced that this year’s Silver T-Square Award will be presented to Universal Uclick editor and President Lee Salem. Lee has been one of the most influential editors in comics having discovered and cultivated some of the most iconic comics in newspapers including: Garry Trudeau (Doonesbury), Bill Watterson (Calvin and Hobbes), Cathy Guisewite (Cathy), Gary Larson (The Far Side), Lynn Johnston (For Better or For Worse), Richard Thompson (Cul de Sac) and Mark Tatulli (Lio).

Lee announced last fall that he was retiring. Michael Cavna wrote a great piece on cartoonists’ reactions to that announcement.

One thought on “NSC to honor Lee Salem with Silver T-Square Award

  1. Well deserved…must have been amazing getting subissions from some of these guys… thanks for finding ‘Calvin and Hobbs’ and ‘Cul De Sac’! Giants among strips….

Comments are closed.