2009 Lulu Awards Nominees announced

The Lulu Awards have announced their list of nominees. The Lulu Awards recognizes people and projects that helped to open eyes and minds to the amazing comic and cartooning work by and/or about women.

Kim Yale Award for Best New Talent

Lulu of The Year

Woman of Distinction

Leah Adezio Award For Best Kid-Friendly Work

The Female Cartoonists And Comic Book Writer’s Hall Of Fame (formerly, The Female Cartoonists Hall Of Fame)

Best Female Character

  • Monica Villarreal, Wapsi Square by Paul Taylor
  • Kimberly “Skim” Keiko Cameron, Skim by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki
  • Rapunzel, Rapunzel’s Revenge by Shannon, Dean, and Nathan Hale
  • Barbara Thorson, I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly & JM Ken Niimura
  • Mirka, Hereville by Barry Deutsch
  • Melanie, Melody by Ilias Kyriazis
  • Julie Martin, Echo by Terry Moore

3 thoughts on “2009 Lulu Awards Nominees announced

  1. Congrats to Barry Deutsch!

    It’d be nice to see this award recognize important female political cartoonists like Signe Wilkinson, Etta Hulme, Stephanie McMillan, Jen Sorensen and Mikhaela Reid, though.

  2. Ted, I think it’s great that you’ve used all those women in your position as editor of the Beast! (except I think Ms. Hulme hasn’t done cartoons for a few months.) And I imagine they’re in your edited books, too! Good for them!

Comments are closed.