2019 Ringo Award Nominees – Comic Strip Division

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The nomination ballot is determined by fans and pros alike.

The third annual awards return as part of the fan- and pro-favorite convention, The Baltimore Comic-Con. Top honors will be announced Saturday, October 19, 2019.

As the awards name says – it is a celebration of comic books.

But they do have a comic strip (and webcomics) category. So let’s take a look:


Best Comic Strip or Panel

  • Amazing Spider-Man, Stan Lee/Larry Lieber, King Features Syndicate

  • Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Andrews McMeel Universal

  • Doonesbury, Garry Trudeau, Andrews McMeel Universal

  • Garfield, Jim Davis, King Features Syndicate (sic)

  • Luann, Greg Evans, Andrews McMeel Universal

  • Nancy, Olivia Jaimes, Andrews McMeel Universal

  • Pearls Before Swine, Stephan Pastis, Andrews McMeel Universal


Best Webcomic

  • Age Matters, Enjelicious,

  • Aztec Empire, Paul Guinan, Anina Bennett, David Hahn

  • The Contradictions, Sophie Yanow

  • Existential Comics, Corey Mohler

  • Lavender Jack, Dan Schkade

  • Luff, Arechan,

  • The Nib, various

  • Nothing Special, Katie Cook


A little disappointed that only one comic strip in that category first appeared in the 21st Century; Pearls Before Swine just missed the 20th Century by debuting in 2001. (Last year’s winner was Sarah’s Scribbles, a comic created in the current decade.) Though I suppose one could argue that the revived Bloom County and Olivia’s Nancy are new strips.

Glad to see The Nib recognized in the webcomic division.

also note: Unless there is a syndicate move in the near future,
I think placing Garfield with King Features is a typo.

The Ringo Awards homepage list all the nominees,
plus the 2017 and 2018 nominees and winners.