Herblock Prize Ceremony Tonight

The Boston Globe and The Nib cartoonist Ward Sutton will be honored by the Herb Block Foundation tonight as the 2018 winner of their eponymous prize.

According to the Herb Block Foundation site:

 “We were greatly impressed by the quality and breadth of submissions, with so much outstanding work being done in all types of political cartooning. But we felt that Ward Sutton’s combination of strong artwork and sharp satirical writing stood out. Ward’s art style has an appealing comic book look that includes a mastery of caricature within that context. He juxtaposes these attractive drawings with strong, urgent writing, setting up creative premises and wringing out of them cutting humor and provocative commentary that rise to the historical importance of today’s issues.”

The event to be hosted by The Library of Congress.

The New Yorker and Rolling Stone cartoonist Steve Brodner was a finalist for the prize.

Previous winners:

2017: Ruben Bolling

2016: Mark Fiore

2015: Kevin Kallaugher (KAL) 

2014: Jen Sorenson

2013: Tom Tomorrow

2012: Matt Bors

2011: Tom Toles

2010: Matt Wuerker

2009: Pat Bagley

2008: John Sherrfius

2007: Jim Morin

2006: Jeff Danzinger

2005: Tony Auth

2004: Matt Davies

About the Herb Block Foundation: The Herb Block Foundation is committed to defending the basic freedoms guaranteed all Americans, combating all forms of discrimination and prejudice and improving the conditions of the poor and underprivileged through the creation or support of charitable and educational programs with the same goals.