See All Topics

Home / Section: AAEC-feed

Matt Davies Awarded Herblock Prize (Again)

Matt Davies, editorial cartoonist for Newsday, has won all the big awards in his profession,
so the only thing to do now is start repeating.

Matt Davies is the editorial cartoonist for Newsday in NY and has won both the 2004 Pulitzer Prize and the 2001 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism prize. In 2004 he was awarded the first ever Herblock Prize.

In 2017 he received the National Headliner Award and was also a runner up/finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in 2011 and 2016.

The Herb Block Foundation has announced that Matt will receive the 2019 Herblock Prize, making him the first to be honored twice.

The Herb Block Foundation revealed the winner today.



Judges called Davies “a veteran cartoonist working at the top of his game,” adding that they were impressed by the “strength and consistency” of his portfolio.

Like a proud parent Newsday boasts about the distinction.

Newsday editorial cartoonist Matt Davies has been named the 2019 Herblock Prize winner — the first two-time recipient of the prestigious honor.

Davies will receive a $15,000 after-tax cash prize and a sterling silver Tiffany trophy in a ceremony set for May 2 at the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. Jake Tapper, CNN’s chief Washington correspondent and himself a sometime political cartoonist, will deliver the annual Herblock Lecture at the ceremony.



The Foundation noted:

Any hesitance on the part of the judges to break precedent by awarding a previous winner was overcome by the strength and consistency of Davies’s portfolio. A veteran editorial cartoonist working at the top of his game, Davies has a unique, trademark style of drawing that effectively conveys humor without making light of the serious issues at hand.

He doesn’t just settle for the same old visual metaphors so commonly found in editorial cartooning today, and he does not insult his reader’s intelligence with over-labeled work.

The judges were impressed by the wide range of topics Davies tackled, including many that did not appear in other portfolios. He approaches topics with succinct precision and visual wit.





Community Comments

#1 Stacy Curtis
@ 1:20 pm

And congratulations to Herblock finalist, Clay Jones!
Great work by both cartoonists!

#2 Hank Gillette
@ 2:31 pm

Does the Herblock finalist receive anything other than the prestige of coming in second? Clay Jones has been on fire the last year. Besides drawing one or two cartoons a week, he also delivers daily commentary on his website,

#3 D. D. Degg
@ 3:11 pm

“The Herblock finalist for 2019 is Clay Jones
and he will receive a $5,000 after-tax cash prize.”

#4 Mike Lester
@ 7:23 pm

I spoke w/ the head of the Herb Block Foundation yesterday. Nice lady and I will not use her name. After pointing out that every conservative edit. cartoonist I know loves Matt’s work -but they haven’t entered her contest in ten or more years. Why would we?

Their site lists past winners and runner ups from 2004 to present. Not one conservative. (that’s 28 cartoonists my math is right) It’s her contest and she’s damn well entitled to run it as they see fit especially since Herblock was certainly no conservative. But it’s clearly an award not for editorial cartooing but for liberal editorial cartooning.

Ditto Pulitzer.

Speaking only for myself I don’t want to win a contest where liberals were excluded. That said MD is a helluva cartoonist and I’m very happy for him.

#5 Mike Lester
@ 7:24 pm

First prize was $10,000.00 tax free.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.