2009 Reuben Award winner: Dave Coverly

The 2009 Reuben award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the year goes to Dave Coverly. Dave does the comic panel “Speed Bump” and does panel cartoons formthe New Yorker and Parade Magazine. “Speed Bump” is syndicated through Creators Syndicate.

Other nominees this year included Stephan Pastis, and Dan Piraro.

15 thoughts on “2009 Reuben Award winner: Dave Coverly

  1. I asked Dave yesterday a few hours before the awards if he had his speech ready…and he laughed and said no. He was sure Stephan or Dan was going to win. I can’t wait to see what he said. 🙂

  2. Well.. at least Bizarro didn’t win. Not a fan at all. Kind of sad that Pastis didn’t get it. I guess Speed Bump just isn’t my kind of strip either. Not enough terribly complicated and very hard worked for puns.

  3. Dave Coverly is one of the best artists in this business, with an absolutely “no-Fail” on his funny meter. It is an honor to call Dave a friend. I am so, so happy he received this award to which he is so richly deserving.

  4. I really wanted Stephan Pastis to win this year. My paper only prints Pearls Before Swine Monday through Saturday. Maybe this would have changed their mind.

  5. Congratulations to the lovely and super-talented Mr. Coverly, the nicest guy in the NCS!

Comments are closed.