2023 National Headliner Award Winner is Clay Bennett

“Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of

the oldest and largest annual contests recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry.”

The National Headliner Awards have announced the winners for 2023.

Clay Bennett was chosen as The Award winner for editorial cartoon material appearing in 2022.

First Place
Clay Bennett
Chattanooga Times Free Press

Judges’ comments: Artistic expression, message and significance were wrapped up nicely in
this submission, generating a-ha moments, sadness and relevance. The clarity and simplicity of
the artwork was excellent and the variety of topics demonstrated the depth and breadth of
news events in 2022

© Chattanooga Times Free Press/Clay Bennett

The Chattanooga Times Free Press noted Clay’s win and displayed his winning submission package:

Chattanooga Times Free Press cartoonist Clay Bennett has received the 2023 National Headliner Award for Editorial Cartoons.

Bennett’s work is published on the Chattanooga Times editorial page and on the Sunday Perspective section. His work is also syndicated internationally in about 100 newspapers through Counterpoint Syndication.

This is the fifth Headliner Award for Bennett, who’s also received the Sigma Delta Chi Award, Overseas Press Club Award, Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award and the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning. He has been named Editorial Cartoonist of the Year by Editor & Publisher magazine.

Adam Zyglis and Michael Ramirez were also recognized for their editorial cartoons.

Second Place
Adam Zyglis
The Buffalo News

Third Place
Michael Ramirez
Las Vegas Review-Journal

One thought on “2023 National Headliner Award Winner is Clay Bennett

Comments are closed.