JD Crowe Wins 2020 Robert F. Kennedy Award

The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy’s concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world.

The 2020 RFK Award for Cartooning is presented to JD Crowe of the Alabama Media Group “for his use of wit and artistry to illuminate policies that are harming women, the poor, and people of color in the state of Alabama.”

The RFK gallery of JD Crowe work:

Alabama’s Homeless Veterans

JD responds to the honor:

“I’m just a dork who can draw a little, so it’s always a sweet shock to win an award for doing something I love,” Crowe said. “I am tickled and especially proud to receive this RFK Award – an award that focuses on human rights and injustice – for a body of work mostly comprised of Alabama’s dystopian politics – now mirrored by the Trump administration. As always, I thank this state’s voters for keeping the pond stocked with outrageously bassackward, corrupt leaders and politicians.”


Here are the last few cartoon winners of  the Robert F. Kennedy Award:

2019: Mark Fiore. KQED News and online news outlets
2018: Ruben Bolling, “Tom the Dancing Bug” Syndicated by Andrews McMeel Syndication
2017: Mike Thompson, “The Flint Water Scandal,” Detroit Free Press
2016: Angelo Lopez, “Editorial Cartoons,” Philippines Today
2015: Darrin Bell, “Darrin Bell 2014 Editorial Cartoons,” The Washington Post Writers Group
2014: David Horsey, “Portfolio by David Horsey,” Los Angeles Times
2013: Jen Sorensen, self-syndicated

Mike Rhode has done the research and listed all the winners since 1983.