National Newspaper Award Finalists

Finalists for the  have been announced.

This is the 71st year for the awards program, and the 31st under the current administrative structure. The awards were established by the Toronto Press Club in 1949 to encourage excellence and reward achievement in daily newspaper work in Canada.

There are 63 finalists from 19 organizations in 21 categories. Finalists were selected by three-judge panels in each category from 774 entries submitted for work published in 2019. Winners will be announced next month. The 2019 Journalist of the Year, chosen from among this year’s winners, will also be announced then.

Finalists for our Category of Interest:

Editorial Cartooning

  • Serge Chapleau, La Presse


  • Brian Gable, Globe and Mail


  • Bruce MacKinnon, Halifax Chronicle Herald


The Editorial Cartooning category features three of the most-honoured individuals in NNA history. Each has won seven NNAs for Cartooning. Brian Gable of the Globe and Mail is a finalist for the 18th time; Serge Chapleau of La Presse is nominated for the 15th time; and Bruce MacKinnon of the Halifax Chronicle Herald is a finalist for the 12th The winner of this category will tie the all-time record of eight individual NNAs, held by Jacquie McNish.

Go here for all finalists in all categories.

Previous Editorial Cartooning winners.