See All Topics

Home / Section: AAEC-feed

RJ Matson Receives 2019 Berryman Award Tonight

The Berryman Award is open to U.S.-based editorial cartoonists for work that exhibits
power to influence public opinion, plus good drawing and striking effect.
The cartoons should represent the highest standards of journalism.

Roll Call reports:

CQ Roll Call cartoonist RJ Matson will receive the 2019 Berryman Award for editorial cartooning at the National Press Foundation’s annual journalism awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 13.

Matson has been with CQ Roll Call since 1986. His cartoons are also syndicated by Cagle Cartoons and have appeared in The New Yorker, The Nation, The Washington Post, the Washington City Paper and other publications. He as also worked as a cartoonist for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and The New York Observer.

The Roll Call link above has the portfolio of Matson’s award-winning cartoons.

The next deadline and past recipients:
Clifford K. & James T. Berryman Award for Editorial Cartoons
Deadline: First week of October 2020
Rules and entry form available online

Community Comments

#1 JP Trostle
@ 1:10 pm

Yeah… The Berryman is the odd award out. It’s the only journalism contest on the fall calendar, and a lot of cartoonists forget it’s there until after the deadline has passed.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.