Clay Bennett wins 2011 Lurie UN Award

The 2011 Lurie UN Award has been announced with Chattanooga Times Free Press’ Clay Bennett taking the top honor (see his cartoon below).

Taking second and third are Rick McKee (The Augusta Chronicle) and David Pope (The Canberra Times) respectively. American editorial cartoonist who were given Citations of Excellence included Jimmy Margulies, Robert Ariail, and Ed Gamble.

The Lurie UN Award is named after Ranan Lurie and is given by the UN Correspondents Association and the UNITED NATIONS SOCIETY OF WRITERS to promote the “standard of excellence in political cartoons depicting the spirit of the United Nations, have established this annual political cartoon award given in the international field.”

One thought on “Clay Bennett wins 2011 Lurie UN Award

  1. Congratulations Clay for taking the top honor. I am never surprised when Clay wins anything. His work is clean, beautifully rendered with powerful, succinct visual messages. He’s a cartoonist’s cartoonist. Congratulations also to the runners up and the Citations of Excellence.

Comments are closed.