Bill Amend presented 2007 Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year

Straight from the NCS are the results for this year’s Reuben Awards held last Saturday night. Bill Amend, creator of Foxtrot was honored with Cartoonist of the Year – the highest honor. The Golden Key Award went to Mort Walker, creator of Beetle Bailey and the Silver T-Square was given to Joe and Luke McGarry.

The Division Award winners were given to:

  • Comic Strip: Stephan Pastis, “Pearls Before Swine”
  • Newspaper Panel: Hilary Price, “Rhymes With Orange”
  • Feature Animation: Carter Goodrich, Character Designer, Open Season
  • Magazine Feature/Magazine Illustration: Steve Brodner
  • Editorial Cartoon: Mike Ramirez
  • Book Illustration: Mike Lester
  • Newspaper Illustration: Laurie Triefeldt
  • Gag Cartoons: Drew Dernavich
  • Advertising Illustration: Tom Richmond
  • Greeting Cards: Carla Ventresca
  • Comic Books: Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese
  • Television Animation: Craig Mccracken, Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends
  • Gold Key Award: Mort Walker
  • Silver T-Square: Joe Mcgarry and Luke Mcgarry

5 thoughts on “Bill Amend presented 2007 Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year

  1. I am glad as well to see Pearls Before Swine getting it’s props. To me, it is almost prophetic that it has picked up the South Bend Tribune and the Richmond Times-Dispatch, where it’s replacing The Wizard of Id and B.C. respectively.

    Also, it’s great to see Craig Mccracken winning in the television animation division. His visual style in Foster’s is amazing.

Comments are closed.