The NCS Annual Divisional Reuben Awards – And The Winners Are…

The National Cartoonists Society held their 77th annual Reuben Awards banquet at the Hyatt Regency in Jersey City on September 7, 2023 and announced the winners in twelve cartooning categories for art created in 2022.

Listed below are the finalists and the winners.

Online Comics – Long Form winner: Phil Foglio (“Girl Genius”)

Online Comics – Short Form winner: Rich Powell (“Wide Open”)

Newspaper Comic Strip winner: Will Henry (“Wallace the Brave”)

Newspaper Panel Comic winner: Dave Blazek (“Loose Parts”)

Comic Books winner: Ben Bender (“Beorn: The Littlest Viking”)

Graphic Novel winner: Alex Ross (“Marvel”)

Book Illustration winner: Ed Steckley (“Rube Goldberg’s Simple Normal Definitely Different Day Off”)

Magazine/Newspaper Illustration winner: Nick Galifianakis

Advertising/Product Illustration winner: Dave Whamond

Editorial Cartoons winner: Matt Davies

Variety Entertainment winner: Scott Nickel

Gag Cartoons winner: Christopher Weyant

The NCS also handed out three special awards.

Bill Plympton received The Milton Caniff Lifetime Achievement Award

for a “lifetime of outstanding and accomplished work.”

Hilary B. Price takes home The Elzie Segar Award for her

“unique and outstanding contribution to the profession of cartooning.”

Brian Walker was honored with The Silver T-Square for his

“outstanding dedication or service to the Society or the profession.”

Congratulations to all!

2 thoughts on “The NCS Annual Divisional Reuben Awards – And The Winners Are…

Comments are closed.