Mark Fiore Wins Robert F. Kennedy Award


The Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights organization has announced the winners of its annual awards.

“Family Separation in Cartoons”
KQED News and online news outlets
Mark Fiore

Mark Fiore won the cartoon category for his series of child separation animations.


Mark will receive the award at a ceremony on Thursday, May 23 at 6:30 pm
at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.

Congratulations to Mark for his second RFK Award,
which will join a crowded shelf that includes Pulitzer and Herblock Prizes among others.



Here are the last few cartoon winners of  the Robert F. Kennedy Award:

2018: Ruben Bolling, “Tom the Dancing Bug” Syndicated by Andrews McMeel Syndication
2017: Mike Thompson, “The Flint Water Scandal,” Detroit Free Press
2016: Angelo Lopez, “Editorial Cartoons,” Philippines Today
2015: Darrin Bell, “Darrin Bell 2014 Editorial Cartoons,” The Washington Post Writers Group
2014: David Horsey, “Portfolio by David Horsey,” Los Angeles Times
2013: Jen Sorensen, self-syndicated

Mike Rhode has done the research and listed all the winners since 1983.