Anton Emdin honored as ACA 2013 Cartoonist of the Year (and two other categories)

The Australian Cartoonists Association held their annual Stanley Awards over the weekend. The big prize of “Cartoonist of the Year” went to illustrator Anton Emdin. Anton also took top honors in the Illustrator of the Year and Comic Book Cartoonist categories.

Speaking of the other categories,

Gary Clark was honored in the Comic Strip category for his comic strip Swamp.

Glen Le Lievre is the “Single Gag Cartoonist of the Year” – I think that referes to a single panel comic, not necessarily his marital status.

Editorial cartoonist Mark Knight won Editorial Cartoonist of the Year. He’s the cartoonist at the Herald Sun, a daily tabloid in Melbourne, Australia.

And lastly Russ Radcliffe was honored with the Jim Russell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Cartooning.

Congratulations to everyone!

3 thoughts on “Anton Emdin honored as ACA 2013 Cartoonist of the Year (and two other categories)

  1. It was a great weekend!

    Tom Richmond, president of the NCS, was the Guest of Honour. It was the second time Tom has come to the Stanleys.

    The Stanleys weekend coincided with the 25th Anniversary of the Rotary Cartoon Awards held at the Bunker Cartoon Gallery of Coffs Harbour. The award ceremony was held on the Friday night while the Stanley Awards were held on the Saturday night.

    In your list, you’ve failed to mention that David Rowe won the Stanley Award for best caricaturist. David won two Rotary Cartoon Awards too…

Comments are closed.