Doug Wright nominees have been announced

The Doug Wright nominees have been announced and with it the announcement that legendary Terry (Aislin) Mosher will be inducted into The Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame during the Toronto Comic Arts Festival on May 5th.

Nominees for best Canadian cartoonists are as follows:

Best Book:

  • Hark! A Vagrantby Kate Beaton (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Lose #3 by Michael Deforge (Koyama Press)
  • Mid-Life by Joe Ollmann (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Paying for It by Chester Brown (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Reunion by Pascal Girard for (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • The Great Northern Brotherhood of Canadian Cartoonists by Seth (Drawn and Quarterly)

Spotlight Award (talent deserving of wider recognition):

  • Emily Carroll for “The Seven Windows” (from The Anthology Project vol. 2), “Margot’s Room” and “The Prince & the Sea” (and other comics at
  • Patrick Kyle for Black Mass # 5 – 6
  • Betty Liang for Wet T-Shirt #1, “It’s Only a Secret if You Don’t Tell Anyone” (in s! #9), “Anna Freud’s Recurring Dream” (and other comics at
  • Ethan Rilly for Pope Hats #2 (AdHouse Books)
  • Zach Worton for The Klondike (Drawn and Quarterly)

Pigskin Peters Award (best in avant-garde or experimental comics):

  • Hermoddities by Temple Bates (Conundrum Press)
  • Pure Pajamas Marc Bell (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Hellberta by Michael Comeau (Koyama Press)
  • ‘Untitled’ by Mum Pittsburg, Jupiter Leucetius! Send Us a King. We Are So Bored (and other comics at by Connor Willumsen