See All Topics

Home / Section: Comic strips

Patrick McDonnell honored with 2011 Clampett Award

Mutts creator Patrick McDonnell was awarded the 2011 Clampett Award at the Eisner awards ceremony at this year’s San Diego Comic-Con. The award is named after Bob Clampett, director of countless popular Warner Bros. cartoons and the creator of Beany and Cecil.

Past winners include Jeannie Schulz, Ray Bradbury, Sergio Aragonés, Archie Goodwin, Jack Kirby, Will Eisner, Frank Miller and Jerry Robinson.

Community Comments

@ 8:18 pm

So glad to hear this. Love Mutt’s. Can’t wait for the movie.

#2 Tom Stemmle
@ 11:27 am

I’m glad to hear anytime Patrick wins an award! His work is always excellent and unique. At this point in time, we’d have to do some serious research to try to uncover which awards he hasn’t won!

#3 b.j. Dewey
@ 7:18 am

I love “Mutts,” Patrick’s drawings, other artwork, and books and now I can’t wait for the movie.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.