7th annual Doug Wright Awards announced

The nominees for Best Book are:

  • Bigfoot by Pascal Girard (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Chimo by David Collier (Conundrum Press)
  • Lose #2 by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)
  • Moving Pictures by Kathryn Immonen, Stuart Immonen (Top Shelf Productions)
  • Streakers by Nick Maandag

The nominees for Best Emerging Talent are:

  • Aaron Costain, Entropy # 5
  • Alex Fellows, Spain and Morocco
  • Keith Jones, Catland Empire (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • James Stokoe, Orc Stain Volume One (Image)
  • Tin Can Forest (aka Marek Colek and Pat Shewchuk),Baba Yaga and the Wolf (Koyama Press)
  • The nominees for the Pigskin Peters Award (which recognizes non-traditional and avant-garde comics) are:
  • Indoor Voice by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Stooge Pile by Seth Scriver (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • So I’ve Been Told by Maryanna Hardy (Conundrum Press)
  • Spotting Deer by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)
  • Wowee Zonk #3 edited by Patrick Kyle, Ginette Lapalme and Chris Kuzma (Koyama Press)

This year’s inductee into the Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame will be Vancouver cartoonist David Boswell, the creator of the influential alternative comic Reid Fleming: World’s Toughest Milkman.