See All Topics

Home / Section: Awards

Mort Walker wins Cartoon Art Museum’s Sparky Award

The Cartoon Art Museum has announced that Mort Walker, creator of Beetle Bailey and founder of the National Cartoon Museum, is the recipient of the 2010 Sparky Award, which was presented to him by CAM curator Andrew Farago during a spotlight panel at last weekend’s New York Comic-Con.

The Sparky Award is named in honor of Charles “Sparky” Schulz, the creator of Peanuts. Schulz was nicknamed “Sparky” after the horse Sparkplug featured in the comic strip Barney Google. The Cartoon Art Museum would not exist without benefactors like Sparky Schulz and his wife, Jeannie. The Sparky Award is presented on behalf of the Cartoon Art Museum and the Charles M. Schulz Museum and Research Library.

The award celebrates the significant contributions of cartoon artists who embody the talent, innovation and humanity of Charles M. Schulz. Past recipients include Schulz himself, Sergio Aragones, Gus Arriola, Carl Barks, Gene Colan, Will Eisner, Creig Flessel, Phil Frank, Lou Grant, Chuck Jones, Ward Kimball, Gary Larson, John Lasseter, Stan Lee, Bill Melendez, Dale Messick, John Severin and Morrie Turner.

Community Comments

#1 Jerry Zeeman
@ 8:31 am

Congrats Mort!

#2 David Reddick
@ 11:20 am

AWESOME! A true statesman in Cartooning. :-)

#3 Larry Levine
@ 11:32 am

Congratulations, Mort!!!

#4 Henry Clausner
@ 11:59 am

Mr. Walker is the best, he gave me such inspiration years ago when I wrote to him, and guess what…he wrote back!…Congratulations Mort (luv the museum too)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.