Stanley Awards Weekend

It’s Saturday in Australia. Admittedly early Saturday but the weekend has started nonetheless. And that means…

The Australian Cartoonists Association annual Stanleys Conference and Awards weekend is October 28 and 29, 2023 in St. Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria. The Awards Dinner will be Saturday night.


The Australian Cartoonists Association presents… The 39th Stanley Awards and two-day Conference, to be held in Melbourne, October 28 and 29


  • Conference — Saturday to Sunday, 28 and 29 October
  • Awards Dinner — evening of Saturday 28 October


  • Conference — St Kilda Life Saving Club, 34 Jacka Boulevard, St Kilda VIC
  • Awards Dinner — Crest On Barkly, 1 St. Kilda Road, St Kilda VIC

For the updated weekend program, go here.

The various award categories include Comic Strip, Single Gag Cartoonist, Animation, Illustrator, Book Illustrator, Caricaturist, Editorial/Political Cartoonist, and Event Cartoonist. Special honors include The Jim Russell Award.

The Gold Stanley is presented to The Cartoonist of the Year. This year’s nominees for that honor are

Matt Golding
Mark Knight
Judy Nadin
David Rowe
Cathy Wilcox

Previous Stanley Award winners are listed here.

More about this weekend’s festivities here.

The Daily Cartoonist intends to update this page with the winners as soon as possible.