On winning the Ink Bottle Award

As we’ve reported, Saturday night the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists (AAEC) announced their annual award winners at their convention in San Francisco. To the surprise and delight of us three here at The Daily Cartoonist, we, along with The Washington Post reporter Michael Cavna, The Nib cartoonist and publisher Matt Bors, and AAEC volunteer/organizer Maryellen Dabaghian, were recipients of the Ink Bottle Award.

Speaking for us at TDC, we are honored to have been recognized – on the 30th anniversary of the award no less. Our work here is a daily labor of love for the art of cartooning. I believe this is self evident to anyone who has read TDC for any length of time.

We’d like to thank the AAEC for their recognition. We’d also like to congratulate Michael, Matt, and Maryellen. It’s a pleasure to be part of the editorial cartooning community.