Wally Badgett to Receive 2022 Saddle of Honor

On Saturday, August 20, the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame will celebrate the third “Saddle of Honor” to be awarded to Montana Cowboy Cartoonist, Wally Badgett.

Badgett’s pen name, M.C. Tin Star became the backbone for his popular syndicated cowboy cartoon, Earl.

Badgett was inducted into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in April of this year and will join 2018 Saddle of Honor recipient Charles M. Russell and 2019 Jay Joseph Contway. He will receive a bronze sculpture of Charlie Russell’s saddle.

Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center announces the awarding.

The Tri-State Livestock News carries the news. 

More (but not much) about Wally Badgett.

…He wasn’t a very good bull rider, but sometimes succeeded because he was too scared to turn loose…

…He also spent fourteen years as a deputy sheriff for Custer County in Miles City, Montana. It was during this time the cartoon character “Earl” started to bumble and stumble across the newspapers. The signature, M.C. Tin Star, originated from his cowboy pals referring to him as the Miles City Tin Star…

…After retiring in 2019, he can now devote himself to Earl and She Who Must Be Obeyed’s yard work…