Luckovich, Ramirez and Varvel Win 2018 Advancing American Democracy Award

Editorial cartoonists Mike Luckovich, Mike Ramirez and Gary Varvel will all be recipients of the 2018 Advancing American Democracy Award. The award is given by the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site and past winners have included author Ron Chernow and Senator Richard Luger. The three cartoonists will receive the award at an event at The Conrad Indianapolis hotel in Indianapolis on September 20th.

From the press release :

“Varvel, Luckovich and Ramirez are immediately recognizable around the country for their distinctive artistry and pointed commentary,” said Andrea Neal, Board Chair of the Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site. “The board hopes this award will draw attention to the vital role played by editorial cartoonists in democratic discourse. These talented gentlemen, representing all sides of the political spectrum, teach us that humor can go a long way in overcoming the polarization that has marked our country’s recent political debates.”