Herblock Foundation sponsors editorial cartooning award and scholarship

The Herblock Foundation is sponsoring a new category in The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers’s annual Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Three $1000 scholarships will be awarded to teens for their “outstanding drawings, illustrations, or animated short films offering commentary on current events or political topics.”

From the press release:

The Alliance for Young Artists & Writers has announced the addition of a new ?editorial cartoon? category to the 93rd annual Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, the country’s longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative teens. Sponsored by The Herb Block Foundation, the Editorial Cartoon category celebrates the legacy of four-time Pulitzer Prize-winning political cartoonist Herb Block and his remarkable contribution to American history and free expression. Three teen artists will be selected to each receive a $1,000 scholarship from The Herb Block Foundation for their outstanding drawings, illustrations, or animated short films offering commentary on current events or political topics.

?Cultural and artistic trends have driven the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards categories over the years,? said Virginia McEnerney, Executive Director of the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers. ?Recent submissions have shown that teen interest in political issues is burgeoning, particularly as the presidential election nears. Adding Editorial Cartoons to the Scholastic Awards is an exciting opportunity to increase awareness of the art form among teens, preserve Herb Block?s amazing legacy, and underscore the importance of free expression in a democratic society. We are thrilled to be working with the wonderful people at The Herb Block Foundation to bring this to life.?

Jean J. Rickard, Founding Executive Director of The Herb Block Foundation, said, “Since the first board meeting, the Foundation has sought to encourage the next generation of editorial cartoonists. We are excited to collaborate in this partnership and see the creativity and future of the art form.”

Beginning September 16, students in grades 7?12 can submit original art and writing works to the 2016 Awards. For the Editorial Cartoon category, single-panel drawings with captions, sequential comic art, illustrations, digitally created drawings, or animated films with a political theme or message will be considered. This new addition joins the program?s existing 28 categories, ranging from painting to photography, flash fiction to poetry, and even video game design. Submissions to the Awards are first judged on a regional level by more than 100 Regional Affiliates of the Alliance, who bring the program to life in local communities. Top regional submissions are then evaluated nationally by a panel of creative-industry experts including Andres Serrano, Edwidge Danticat, Julie Mehretu, Roz Chast, and Stephen Savage, who have all served as past jurors.

The talented students who receive Scholastic Art & Writing Awards gain access to exhibition and publication opportunities. More than 60 partner colleges and universities set aside $10 million in scholarships for high school seniors who receive Scholastic Awards. These exceptional students walk in the footsteps of celebrated alumni of the program such as Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Sylvia Plath, Robert Redford, Stephen King, Myla Goldberg, Richard Linklater, Kay WalkingStick, Zac Posen and Lena Dunham, all of whom received Awards when they were teens.

Deadlines for submissions vary by region throughout the winter months, with Scholastic Art & Writing Award National Medalists announced in March 2016. To learn more about the Awards, visit the Scholastic Media Room online at mediaroom.scholastic.com/artandwriting.

If you know a college-age student with talent in the area of political art, please send this along.