More awards go to: Bruce MacKinnon, Clay Bennett, Ruben Bolling, John Martz

Bruce MacKinnon of The Chronicle Herald has won this year’s International Editorial Cartoon Competition of the Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom. Second and third place winners were Pierre Brignaud, and Rodrigo de Matos.

Clay Bennett, in addition to being a nominee for this year’s NCS divisional award for editorial cartooning, was honored with Cartooning with a Conscience award from The James Aronson Awards for Social Justice Journalism.

Ruben Bolling (Tom The Dancing Bug) and John Martz (Lighthouses) received a gold medal from the Society of Illustrators’s annual Comic and Cartoon Art Long Form and Comic Strip competition. Silver medals went to Bizhan Khodabandeh (Finding Time) and Brendan Kiefer (Stop!). Their work will be on display May 28 – June 21.