See All Topics

Home / Section: Animation

NCS announces 2013 Divisional Nominees

The National Cartoonists Society has announced the division awards for the 68th Annual NCS Reuben Awards. Looking through the different categories, I certainly have my favorites and hopefuls. Overall, strong contenders in each division.

The winners will be announced during the annual Reuben Awards dinner Memorial Day weekend. Best of luck to all the nominees!

Editorial Cartoons

  • Clay Bennett
  • Adam Zyglis
  • Mike Ramirez

Newspaper Illustration

  • Bob Eckstein
  • Miel Prudencio Ma
  • Dave Whammond

Feature Animation

  • Mike Giamo: Production Design “Frozen”- Disney
  • Hayao Miyazaki: Director, “The Wind Rises”- Disney
  • Jonathan del Val: Animator of Lucy character, “Despicable Me 2”- Illumination

TV Animation

  • Craig McCracken for “Wander Over Yonder” – Disney
  • Paul Rudish for Disney Channel’s “Mickey Mouse” shorts – Disney
  • Douglas Sloan & Art Edler Brown for “Dragons: Riders of Berk” – Dreamworks

Newspaper Panels

  • Dave Coverly
  • Scott Hilburn
  • Mark Parisi

Magazine Gag Cartoons

  • Matt Diffee
  • Bob Eckstein
  • Mike Twohy

Advertising/Product Illustration

  • Cedric Hohnstadt
  • Sean Parkes
  • Rich Powell

Greeting Cards

  • Glenn McCoy
  • Mark Parisi
  • George Schill

Comic Books

  • Sergio Aragon’es – Sergio Aragon’es Funnies
  • Jay Fosgitt – Bodie Troll
  • Chris Samnee – Daredevil

Graphic Novel

  • Dan E Burr- On The Ropes
  • Rick Geary – Madison Square Tragedy
  • Andrew C Robinson- The 5th Beatle

Magazine Illustration

  • Daryll Collins
  • Anton Emdin
  • Dave Whamond

Online – Long Form

  • Jenn Manley Lee – Dicebox
  • Dylan Meconis – Family Man
  • Eddie Pittman – Red’s Planet
  • Jeff Smith – Tuki

Online – Short Form

  • Jim Horwitz – Watson
  • Ryan Pagelow – Buni
  • Mike Twohy – New Yorker Online

Book Illustration

  • Matt Davies
  • William Joyce
  • CF Payne

Newspaper Comic Strips

  • Issabella Bannerman – Six Chicks
  • Teri Leibenson – Pajama Diaries
  • Mark Tatulli – Lio

Community Comments

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.