See All Topics

Home / Section: Awards

Three “Mikes” win top awards… do I hear a fourth?

For those keeping score, three of the big five editorial cartooning journalism awards announced so far have all gone to a “Mike.”

Mike Peters – National Headliners Award
Mike Thompson – Scripps Howard Award
Mike Keefe – John Fischetti Award
Herblock Award – Tom Toles
Matt Wuerker – National Press Foundation

Still unannounced:

Overseas Press Club (late April)
RFK – (mid, late April)
SPJ – (Spring)
Pulitzer Prize – (April 18)

There does seem to be several “Mikes” in the ranks. No wonder John Read devoted a whole issue of his latest Stay Tooned Magazine to “Multitude of Mikes.” Featured Mikes: Mike Arnold, Mike Cope, Mike Edholm, Michael Jantze, Mike Lynch, Michael Maslin and Michael Ramirez, Mike Marland, Mike Shapiro, and Mike Mignola.

Community Comments

No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.