Judge, Lasseter, Park win Winsor McCay Award

The International Animated Film Society has announced this year’s Winsor McCay winners are Mike Judge, John Lasseter and Nick Park. The award honors animators who are “best known as a prolific artist and pioneer in the art of comic strips and animation.” The three will receive trophies next January at the 36th annual Annie Awards.

Mike Judge is best known for creating MTV’s Beavis and Butt-head as well as King of the Hill. He has a new animated series that will air on ABC next year called “The Goode Family.” John Lasseter is the Chief Creative Officer at Pixar and Walt Disney Animation where he has led the industry in computer animation. Nick Park is a British clay animator known for his characters Wallace and Gromit.