The Harvey Awards nominees include several syndicated cartoonists

I’m not sure when the nominations were announced, but the 2006 Harvey awards have several syndicated creators among those vying for top honors.  In the Category of Best Artist Frank Cho has been nominated (for his work on the Shanna, “The She-Devil” comic book – not “Liberty Meadows”). In the Best cartoonist category we have John Kovalic with “Dork Tower”; in best Syndicated Strip of Panel we have Aaron McGruder for “The Boondocks” Keith Knight for “The K Chronicles,” Patrick McDonnell for “Mutts,” and lastly Stan Lee and Larry Leiber for “The Amazing Spider-Man.”

The awards will be given out on September 9 during the Baltimore Comic-Con. According to the Harvey Awards web site, the “awards are named for Harvey Kurtzman (1924-1993) , a cartoonist, writer, editor, and comics genius.  The Harvey Awards recognize outstanding work in comics and sequential art.”

Technorati Tags: